Emmy Statue


Founded in 1947, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) and the Emmy Award stand for the best in the television industry. The National Academy is the only non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievement, raising industry standards, and improving the quality of television. Its dedication to excellence is pursued every day by members of its 19 chapters across the country.

The Michigan Chapter was charted by the National Academy in 1978 as the Detroit chapter and Peter Kiezer was the first President. In 1989 the chapter was expanded to include the entire state of Michigan.